Couple and Family psychotherapy

Psychotherapy with couples and family’s goals are to promote the restoration of positive exchanges and for better relational operation. A rigorous evaluation of the relationship dynamics of couples and families can target the appropriate psychological treatment for relationship problems, depending on the situation, symptoms and other disturbances presented. And then provide the appropriate psychological treatment, to bring significant changes needed to improve their relations. Suffering and distress of couples and families are thereby relieved. It should be noted here that the treatment goes beyond aid to cope with common challenges or council or support report.

Individual Psychotherapy

Psychotherapy with individuals aims to promote the recovery of their psychological well-being, both in cognitive, emotional level and at the behavioral level, and for better staff and / or relational operation. A rigorous evaluation can target the appropriate psychological treatment to individual difficulties, depending on the situation, symptoms and other disturbances presented. And then provide psychological treatment, to bring significant changes for their suffering and distress are thereby relieved.

Coaching

Coaching is the therapy of the healthy”, – Bernard Hévin and Jane Turner.

Following a specific situation, difficulties encountered after any change, for example, a promotion, termination, separation, moving … although sometimes these events can be destabilizing, people remain healthy psychologically. Unlike therapy, coaching does not respond to psychological suffering but to the need to understand, to grasp the new situation and restore balance. The coach, almost like the mentor, will not be interested in our past history but will help us better analyze the present to prepare for the future and put everything on our side. – Florence Servan-Schreiber (2009)

Psycho-education

Psycho-education aims to directly assist people with adjustment difficulties manifested behaviorally in their living environments. Information and education is learning knowledge and specific skills to enhance the independence, health and / or marital or family trade customers. Psycho-education may include, for example on teaching stress management techniques, assertiveness, communication skills or parenting skills techniques.

Conflict Resolution

A conflict occurs when two people are faced with a fairly intense difference of opinion to cause clashes, or even poison their relationship. Interpersonal conflict can occur at school, at work or even family. It awakens in people suffering feelings of fear, hatred or hostility and to face a severe test. Different forms of conflict resolution exist, among others:

  • Nonviolent Communication (NVC)

Nonviolent Communication (NVC) is a method to create between people relationships based on empathy, compassion, harmonious cooperation and respect for self and others. It is a communication tool, mainly oral, that may be used to resolve conflicts between two persons or in groups. –Marshall Rosenberg

  •  Conflict resolution

Conflict resolution calls on the parties to manage their differences in everyday life. The goal is to bring the parties to have a good understanding of interpersonal conflicts, their effects on their thoughts, emotions and behaviors

  • Family mediation

Family mediation is a way of resolving conflicts in which an impartial mediator works with partners in the decisions surrounding the separation / divorce and negotiate a fair and viable agreement meets the needs of all family members and subject free and informed consent.

Mediation promotes a spirit of cooperation and displays several advantages. Many professionals may provide mediation services: lawyer or notary counselor, psychologist, marriage and family therapist, social worker, or professional psycho-educators a child protection center and youth. To learn more about mediation: http://www.mediationquebec.ca

Intervention

The procedure differs from psychotherapy in that it aims to support the functioning of a person, a couple or a family, reassuring, providing advice and information relevant to their situation. The intervention puts the focus on the situation experienced by the individual, couple or family in order to maintain and consolidate the gains. The procedure also allows you to make adaptation strategies by targeting strengths and resources within the framework of meetings or regular or ad hoc activities. The scope of practice of the social worker, is the assessment of social functioning of a person in interaction with his environment. This person can be an individual, a couple, a family, a group or community.

Psychological Assesment

Psychological assessment helps to better understand the origin and nature of the problems afflicting the individual, couple or family. Psychological evaluation goes beyond the identification of a symptom presented. It particularly helps to understand how the individual, couple or family has come to develop these symptoms, current patterns or problematic exchanges. Evaluation is necessary for good psychotherapy process.

Occupational Therapy

Occupational therapy aims at evaluating and treating people, by considering human activity and health, in order to increase their autonomy and independence. More specifically, the occupational therapist considers in their evaluation, the physical and mental health problems of the person and their impact on their diverse relationships. The therapist proceeds to implement measures of re-education, re-adaptation, re-habilitation, etc., to reduce the limitations and help people, couples and families to maintain their social implication. The occupational therapist offers a clinical assistance suited to couples in which one or both members have been diagnosed with a disease, chronic pain, of limitations, and to elders.

Nutritional Clinic

The Nutritional Clinic aims at evaluating health issues regarding specific difficulties related to a persons nutrition and diet. The clinical nutritionist develops a nutritional treatment plan adapted to help a person restore and maintain their health. The impact of the Nutritional Clinic can apply to issuses such as : difficulty in accepting ones physical image, difficulties with eating habits, as well as, the impact of the diet of a child living with a disorder such as attention deficit, or other.

Nurse

The Nurse intervenes in the preservation and restoration of health, in the prevention of disease and in end of life matters. The impact of the Nurse within the CTCFO aims at providing information, promoting health, and preventing social problems for couples, families and groups.

Psychothérapie Conjugale et Familiale

La psychothérapie auprès des couples et des familles a pour buts de favoriser le rétablissement d’échanges positifs et ce, pour un meilleur fonctionnement relationnel. Une évaluation rigoureuse de la dynamique relationnelle des couples et des familles permet de cibler le traitement psychologique approprié aux difficultés relationnelles, en fonction de la situation, des symptômes et autres perturbations présentés. Et ensuite, prodiguer le traitement psychologique approprié, afin d’apporter les changements significatifs nécessaires à l’amélioration de leur relations. La souffrance et la détresse des couples et des familles s’en trouvent soulagées. Précisons ici que le traitement va au-delà d’une aide visant à faire face aux difficultés courantes ou d’un rapport de conseil ou de soutien.

Psychothérapie Individuelle

La psychothérapie auprès des individus a pour but de favoriser le rétablissement de leur bien-être psychologique, tant au niveau cognitif, émotionnel, qu’au niveau comportemental, et ce, pour un meilleur fonctionnement personnel et/ou relationnel. Une évaluation rigoureuse permet de cibler le traitement psychologique approprié aux difficultés individuelles, en fonction de la situation, des symptômes et autres perturbations présentés. Et ensuite, prodiguer le traitement psychologique, afin d’apporter les changements significatifs pour que leur souffrance et leur détresse s’en trouvent soulagées.

Coaching

« Le coaching est la thérapie du bien-portant », – Bernard Hévin et Jane Turner.

Suite à une situation particulière, à des difficultés rencontrés suite à un changement, par exemple, une promotion, un licenciement, une séparation, un déménagement… Bien que parfois ces événements puissent être déstabilisants, les personnes restent psychologiquement en bonne santé. A la différence d’une thérapie, le coaching ne répond pas à une souffrance psychologique mais au besoin de comprendre, d’appréhender une situation nouvelle et de rétablir un équilibre. Le coach, habile mélange entre entraîneur et mentor, ne va donc pas s’intéresser à notre histoire passée mais nous aider à mieux analyser le présent afin de préparer le futur et mettre tous les atouts de notre côté. – Florence Servan-Schreiber (2009)

Psychoéducation

La psychoéducation a pour but d’aider directement les personnes aux prises avec des difficultés d’adaptation se manifestant sur le plan comportemental dans leurs différents milieux de vie. L’information et l’éducation vise un apprentissage de connaissances et d’habiletés spécifiques afin d’améliorer l’autonomie, la santé et/ou les échanges conjugaux ou familiaux des clients. La psychoéducation peut porter, par exemple sur l’enseignement de techniques de gestion de stress, d’affirmation de soi, de techniques de communication ou de techniques d’habiletés parentales.

Résolution de conflits

Un conflit se produit lorsque deux personnes se retrouvent face à une divergence d’opinion assez intense pour occasionner des heurts, voir même empoisonner leur relation. Le conflit interpersonnel peut survenir à l’école, au travail ou même en famille. Il éveille chez les personnes de la souffrance, des sentiments de peur, de haine ou d’hostilité et est une rude épreuve à affronter. Différentes formes de résolution de conflits existent, entre autre :

  • La communication non violente (CNV)

La Communication non violente (CNV) est une méthode visant à créer entre les êtres humains des relations fondées sur l’empathie, la compassion, la coopération harmonieuse et le respect de soi et des autres. Il s’agit d’un outil de communication, principalement verbal, qui peut servir à la résolution de conflits entre deux personnes ou au sein de groupes. –Marshall Rosenberg

  •  La résolution de conflits

La résolution de conflits invite les parties à gérer leurs différends au quotidien. Le but est d’amener les parties à avoir une bonne compréhension des situations conflictuelles interpersonnelles, leurs effets sur leurs pensées, leurs émotions et leurs comportements. Puis, les parties apprennent à prévenir les altercations en mettant en pratique des techniques de communication, de négociation, du travail sur les émotions et des habiletés de gestion de conflits.

  • La médiation familiale

La médiation familiale est un mode de résolution des conflits dans lequel un médiateur impartial intervient auprès des conjoints dans les décisions entourant la séparation/divorce et à négocier une entente équitable et viable répondant aux besoins de chacun des membres de la famille et faisant l’objet d’un consentement libre et éclairé.

La médiation favorise un esprit de collaboration et affiche plusieurs avantages. Plusieurs professionnels peuvent offrir des services de médiation : avocat ou notaire, conseiller en orientation, psychologue, thérapeute conjugal et familial, travailleur social, psychoéducateurs ou professionnel d’un centre de protection de l’enfance et de la jeunesse. Pour en savoir plus au sujet de la médiation : http://www.mediationquebec.ca

Intervention

L’intervention diffère de la psychothérapie en ce sens qu’elle vise à soutenir le fonctionnement d’une personne, d’un couple ou d’une famille, en les rassurant, en prodiguant des conseils et de l’information pertinente à leur situation. L’intervention met le focus sur la situation vécue par la personne, le couple ou la famille dans le but de maintenir et de consolider les acquis. L’intervention permet aussi d’apporter des stratégies d’adaptation en ciblant leurs forces et leurs ressources dans le cadre de rencontres ou d’activités régulières ou ponctuelles. Le champ d’exercice du travailleur social, réside dans l’évaluation du fonctionnement social d’une personne, en interaction avec son environnement. Cette personne peut être un individu, un couple, une famille, un groupe ou une collectivité.

Évaluation Psychologique

L’évaluation psychologique permet de mieux comprendre l’origine et la nature de la problématique qui afflige la personne, le couple ou la famille. L’évaluation psychologique va au-delà de l’identification d’un symptôme présenté. Elle permet particulièrement de comprendre comment la personne, le couple ou la famille en est arrivé à développer ces symptômes, patterns actuels ou échanges problématiques. L’évaluation est nécessaire à un bon processus de psychothérapie.

L’ergothérapie

L’ergothérapie a pour but d’évaluer et traiter les personnes, en considérant l’activité humaine et la santé, afin d’augmenter leur autonomie et leur indépendance. Plus spécifiquement, l’ergothérapeute considère dans son évaluation, les problèmes de santé physique et mentale d’une personne et leurs impacts sur leurs diverses relations. Il procède à mettre en œuvre des mesures de rééducation, réadaptation, réhabilitation, etc., afin de réduire les limitations et aider les personnes, les couples et les familles à maintenir leur implication sociale. L’ergothérapeute offre une aide clinique appropriée aux couples dont un ou les deux membres ont un diagnostic de maladie, douleur chronique, de limitations et aux aînés.

Nutrition clinique

La nutrition clinique a pour but d’évaluer les enjeux de santé en lien avec des difficultés spécifiques, reliés à la nutrition et à l’alimentation d’une personne. Le nutritionniste clinique développe un plan de traitement nutritionnel adapté afin d’aider les personnes à rétablir et maintenir leur santé. L’impact de la nutrition clinique peut s’appliquer dans des enjeux tels : difficulté d’acceptation de son image corporelle, difficultés avec un comportement alimentaire, aussi l’impact de l’alimentation chez un enfant vivant avec un trouble de déficit de l’attention, ou autre.

Infirmière

L’infirmière intervient dans le maintien et le rétablissement de la santé, dans la prévention de la maladie et les enjeux de fin de vie. L’impact de l’infirmière au sein du CTCFO vise les activités d’information, de promotion de la santé, et de prévention des problèmes sociaux auprès des couples, familles et groupes.